This is my normal

I bet you thought I was going to give you a look into what my day is like with two little ones.  I know you were thinking that, because I think all the time – I wonder what her life is like?  I wonder if I’m the only one who struggles with patience?  I wonder if my life is normal?  I wonder if my kids are normal?  I am here to tell you that I’ve discovered the answer.  Yes.  My life is normal.  It is my normal.

The thought hit me standing in the kitchen washing dishes this afternoon.  I was thinking about my 2 1/2 year old and how difficult she can be sometimes.  Yes, I was blaming my lack of patience on a 2-year old.  I know, how low can you go, right??  I’d also been humming a praise song (trying to adjust my attitude) while I was thinking and cleaning and the thought hit me like God came down out of the clouds, sat on the stool in my kitchen and spoke it to me:  Your life is normal because it’s your life.  It’s normal to you.  It’s what I’ve given you.  You can choose whether this life is a blessing or a curse by choosing to either complain about it and compare it to others’ lives, or to give thanks for it and see the immeasurable blessings wrapped up in it’s unique package.  I spoke those words out loud and they shocked me.  Wow.  Thank you, God.

Kids at Bike Path

This has given me a huge paradigm shift.  In the age of Google, we can so easily search for what is normal.  Should my 2-year-old be doing this or that; is she talking as much as she should be; is she talking too much; are all big sisters big pains to their little siblings sometimes?  Is my daughter hyperactive?  And the list goes on.  As I’m sure you know.  You moms from the Internet age get this.  I’m sure I’m not the only one who it plagues.  After today though, my new goal is to embrace my life.  Embrace my children.  They are unique and they are not perfect – but who on earth am I kidding – neither am I!!

I’m not going to ask people if something my children are doing is normal anymore.  “Normal” is a four-letter-word for me, as far as I’m concerned.  I want to flee from that word and instead ask God questions like, Will you please give me the grace to handle this situation, Father?  Lord will you please, please, please give me patience to love and train my children?  Please help me to trust You!  I know He is faithful.  His Word tells us that He will answer our prayers.  Much better than Google, I have a feeling…

I just felt like I should share this thought.  I hope it speaks to someone else as it did to me.  I urge you to take the time to thank God for your blessings, even when they are cleverly disguised!  I’ll leave you with this verse from Proverbs 29: “The fear of man brings a snare, but he who trusts in the LORD will be exalted.”  (v. 25)

Leave a Reply

