Sick babies, sad goodbyes, and birthday wishes

My poor baby boy came down with the Croup on Friday. His top teeth have been breaking through the gums, so when he first started with a little runny nose I assumed it was teething. By Friday night, though, he was running a moderate fever. He wasn’t acting himself either, mostly just wanting to be held and rocked. I started up some essential oils (We use DoTerra, and have been slowly building up a collection over the past year.)  I was kicking myself for not starting them the day before as a precaution. They work best when you very first start seeing signs of something coming on and knock it out before it’s had time to set in. Lesson learned…again. The protocol I started with was On Guard (an immune-boosting blend of oils by DoTerra) and Peppermint massaged into his toes and Breathe  (a respiratory blend) on his chest.  As his cough continued over the weekend, I started Oregano on his feet, which is one of the most powerful antibiotics we have on earth.  I then started doing Eucalyptus in addition to Breathe, on his chest.  We also kept Breathe and On Guard going in the diffuser.

Our essential oil arsenal for the croup

Our essential oil arsenal for the croup

I love using this foot map for reference in times like this. The first two nights were really rough, Cliff’s breathing was a little scary, but he was doing okay. We continued with oils every hour or two. That morning I gave him a steam shower and it seemed to help a bit, so we started alternating between a steamy shower and the cold fog outside (We live in the perfect place for that!  My friend Teresa said that’s what she used to do when her boys came down with the croup here.)  It made an immediate difference and would immediately calm his coughing fit.

Our good friends, the Humrs came by Saturday morning. I was so thankful to be able to see Teresa before they left Monterey for their new duty station. It was a wonderful visit complete with French pressed coffee and pastries from Pavel’s bakery down the street (seriously the best pastries you will ever taste in your life – they make me hate being grain-intolerant!) It was a fun treat to get to visit with their sweet family one more time.

Independence Day Race in Santa Cruz

Independence Day Race in Santa Cruz

Over the past year and a half we’ve celebrated holidays together, watched each other’s kids, helped each other move in/out, and enjoyed countless afternoon “teas” together.

Teresa holding Cliff at the hopsital

Teresa holding Cliff at the hospital

When I went into labor with Cliff at midnight on February 14th, Teresa was on call and ready to come stay with Olivia at 3am when we left for the hospital.  They have been such a blessing to us.

Camping in Yosemite

Camping in Yosemite

The military forces unique bonds to be formed between people sometimes.  When you don’t have family around to come help with kids or home, you form your own family away from family.  The Humrs will always be family to us.  We hope to be stationed with them again someday!

Sunday was my 26th birthday.  With two sick kiddos (Olivia came down with a high fever Sunday afternoon), we decided to just take it easy and hang out.  We watched the Cowboys win through a FaceTime chat with my family in Texas – it was fun spending that time with them.  I am so thankful for all of my family.

Rocking my sick baby boy

Rocking my sick baby boy

It was a good birthday getting to spend some time with my own little family and just relax and take care of my babies.  My birthday wish for this year is that the Lord would continue to lead me and John and help us to continue to grow in Him so that we may be able to raise our children in the nurture and admonition of the Lord (Ephesians 6:4).  It’s going to be another good year!

Leave a Reply

