John’s graduation from NPS

I can hardly believe how quickly the past year has gone by! It was last June that John started his master’s degree program at the Naval Post-Graduate School. Tomorrow he walks across the stage and all of his hard work will have paid off. His thesis is also now finalized and approved after hours and hours of work researching and writing.

**On a side-note, Olivia is really excited about seeing her daddy “walk” and is pretty sure she is going to walk with him, ha! She asked if it was a race…

Brag alert! I don’t know how John has kept such great grades at school and also made so much time to spend with us. Over the last year Cliff was born and joined us in our family and we moved a second time in 12 months. It wasn’t an easy transition to baby #2 for us, but with some help from my awesome husband and my amazing mom (and dad and siblings who gave her up for six weeks!), we adjusted well. There were days John did load after load of laundry, all while researching and writing in between – just to help me catch up on the enormous amount of dirty clothes that a newborn generates.

That seems like forever ago now – Cliff is seven months old and for the most part, things run pretty smoothly around here. If I’ve learned anything in my short 4 1/2 years as a Marine wife it’s that the Lord gives what grace is needed! Through two deployments, having our first baby during the last deployment, moving 5 times in 4 years, saying goodbye to friend after friend, and countless other trials, God has sustained us through it all. I can’t take any credit for it. I may have gone crazy without John’s help those first weeks and months after Cliff was born. Even still, when things get overwhelming as I’m sure they do in every home with littles, he is always there to help out, and for that I am SO thankful. Parenting is never easy – I’m just glad I have such an awesome partner to do it with!

So, congratulations to my husband. Not just on finishing his master’s degree, but on finishing well – all while being an all-star dad!

Click here if you would like to watch the graduation ceremony tomorrow. It will be at 10am PST and 12noon CST.

Leave a Reply

